Why I’m Running, because it’s ‘Hope or Die!’ & I lived it!

by jonathonprince

I Chose Hope!

I organized Hope or Die! As a way to inspire people living in despair to hold on and Choose Hope when there’s no sign of it in your environment! unconsciously not only am I the runner of this initiative, but I’m also who I’m running for.

Back at the end of 07′ ALL of 08′ I found myself at ‘rock bottom’. A victim of hopelessness and living without a sign of any way out. I was depressed, stressed, hungry, unemployed, desperate and looking for something, anything to keep my light lit. Living of rice and water for a whole year in a place I was fortunate enough to have JP allow me to stay at while I bounced back to get on my feet. That time never came. As each day past, my hope & faith grew weaker and I stopped trying. Life was very hard and humbling for me for over 22 months, out of which 18 of them I had absolutely no income whatsoever. As I look back now, I still don’t see how I did it. But I do know one thing for sure, if it wasn’t for people like JP and a few others who saw that help was desperately needed and stepped up to do what they could at the time, I wouldn’t be running right now, and I know that for a fact! As things elongated, I had to go. I got comfortable with being hopeless and you can smell the despair on me, just sickening when I think about it! But at the time and for awhile I became bitter at JP. He put me out. I asked myself now, ‘How in the world could you be upset with JP after all that he has done for you?’ I didn’t get it, we went back and forth for awhile in argument, but I couldn’t face it anymore, he was right. I was wrong, and it hurt, but it forced me to grow, and grow I did.

Luckily, I saw President Barack Obama defy all odds by executing the finest campaign in history to become the first black president of the United States. Combined with the support and encouragement from JP, I eventually snapped out of it and took accountability for my entire life. No more would I be a victim to life’s external circumstances. I marinated with myself and took a look within to determine my life’s walk, then the answer came to me. So here I am. I run, I love to do it and I’ve found my life’s work in what I love to do as a young aspiring philanthropist Athlivist.

So I’m running for those of you out there because I KNOW where you are and I’ve been there. I know what it’s like to not eat for days at a time. I know what it’s like to want to end your life. I know what it’s like to be at rock bottom without seeing a way out. The only way out is to change your thoughts from within in order to live from that spiritual place that no one or any circumstance can interfere.

My hope is that through my story and my running you find yourself. You find that place so many yearn for but only very few attain. Don’t be afraid to look within, that is where your greatest freedom, salvation & treasure lies.

The gift of being at rock bottom is perspective, you have nothing to loose and nowhere to go but up. Choose Hope people, because that’s when ANYTHING is possible.

So there you have it! People ask me ‘Why’ I’m running and ‘How’ I’m able to do this? Well, when your ‘Why’ for doing something is strong enough, it makes your ‘How’ to do it, obsolete.

Its Hope or Die! My name is Jonathon Prince, and I’m not just the organizer-runner, I’m running for me too & I Choose Hope! Cheers to the people in the world like JP, a rarity amongst millions and how I was so blessed to have ever come across a guardian angel like him and his family I haven’t the slightest idea, but he is largely responsible for why I will never loose hope and continue to be of service just as he was to me when I needed him most.

