Breathe.

by jonathonprince

I’m working on an awesome depiction on the science of Breath, so stay tuned, but in the meantime… Enjoy!

Breath. Breathe.

Enter these turning points
In the play of respiration and expiration,
Where the rhythms of life transform
Into each other.

Breath flows in, then surrenders to flow out again.
In this moment, drink eternity.

Breath flows out, emptying, emptying,
Offering itself to infinity.

Cherishing these moments,
Mind dissolves into heart,
Heart dissolves into space,
Body becomes a shimmering field
Pulsating between emptiness and fullness..

-Verse 3, The Radiance Sutras

A translation of the Vijnana Bhairava Tantra by Dr. Lorin Roche

Some text he wrote about meditation:

…meditative attention occurs to people spontaneously, if given a suitable situation. From the Bhairava Tantra I learned that there are many gateways into meditation, many types of touch, breath, sights, sounds that can be used as vehicles for the movement of attention. Meditation experience is immediate and sensuous, although there are far ranges of it that are so refined people mistakenly believe are “beyond the senses.”

Deep BreathDeep Breath

Although you can be sure I’ll post further explorations of this text in the future, this is where we’ll stay today.

My practice this Winter has been to stay with the breath, present in the body – a calming of my Monkey Mind – in any given social situation.  Sounds terrible but in some cases that was the only way I made it through…quite the introspective person I’m turning out to be…  My realization?  That meditation can be applied anywhere…at anytime and our breath – the breath that has always been there, as our ally. As we move out of the darkness of Winter and the days become longer and sun-filled, I seek to stay with this gift of breath in times of boredom, adversity, and heightened interaction.

As a word-smith, it is very fascinating to me to see how semantics, the pique and play of words and language can and will change EVERYTHING – and I don’t say that lightly.  This is the same with this verse.  Will you ever think of your breath in the same way?

